Fourie, Wort are the Lake Club’s champions

The Lake Club's winners Cheryl Lindsay (left), Veronica Tredoux, Candice Wort, Jadrick Fourie, Chris Henry and Chris Victor.

According to the club’s golf director Rob van Velzen there was some tremendous scoring by the 152 members vying for the top prizes.

The women’s section proved to be a one-woman show with two-handicap Candice Wort blitzing the field by 33 shots.

Wort returned rounds of 70 and 75 for a gross total of 145, one-over-par for the weekend.

The Lake Club Benoni’s women’s club champion for 2017 is Candice Wort.

The Bronze Division was more closely contested and was eventually won by Veronica Tredoux and the Copper Division by Cheryl Lindsay.

With nine holes to go on Sunday, the men’s A division was proving to be a close affair with no fewer than eight players within four shots of overnight leader Grant Tod.

At this stage Tod was three-under par and striking the ball far and true and was looking to be a sure winner for the first time.

“Unfortunately for Grant he dropped a few shots around ‘Amen Corner’ and this opened the door for the hungry pack,” said van Velzen.

“Previous champion, Nkosi Dauwa posted a fine second round 68 for a total of 145 and finished in the runner-up position.

“With Grant clearly troubled, playing partner Jadrick Fourie took the initiative with solid pars and then finished his round off in style with birdies on the 17th and 18th holes for a great 68 gross, and a winning total of 141, three-under par.”

Jadrick Fourie, the Lake Club Benoni’s club champion for 2017.

Tod and 15-year-old Ryan van Velzen tied for third place on 146.

The B-Division was won by young Chris Henry with rounds of 83 and 75 for a total of 158, winning by three shots from Mike Breytenbach.

The C-Division was won with two solid rounds of 91 by Chris Victor for a total of 182 gross, with the runner-up Marius Coetzer five-shots behind.

“Congratulations to the green-keeping staff for the tremendous effort they put in prior to the champs, to get the course into tip top shape for the members,” added the golf director.

“With heavy rainfall experienced in February, it was a real challenge for the staff to get all the waterlogged areas on the course cut and tidied up, but they rose to the challenge and the course was perfect in all departments.”

Full results from the Lake Club’s Club Championships:

Women’s Copper Division: 1 Cheryl Lindsay 45 points, 2 Jenny Grieff 37 points. Women’s Bronze Division: Best net: Leanore Simpson 146, Best gross: Veronica Tredoux 192. Women’s Silver Division: Best net: Martie Becker 144, Best gross: Candice Wort 145.

Men’s C-Division: Best net: 1 Mathew Dudley 155, 2 Toby Roos 155, 3 Mathew Vermeulen 157. Best gross: 1 Chris Victor 182, 2 Marius Coetzer 187, 3 Pieter Ehlers. Men’s B-Division: Best net: 1 Piet Steenkamp 139, 2 Tim Grisdale 140, 3 Brian Castle 142. Best gross: Chris Henry 158, 2 Mike Breytenbach 161, 3 Huntley Harris 163. A-Division: Best nett: 1 Anton Vorsman 136, 2 Gavin Wright 143, 3 Mike Fick 144, Jeremy Wright oco. Best gross: 1 Jadrick Fourie 141, 2 Nkosi Dauwa 145, 3 Ryan van Velzen 146, Grant Tod oco.

Follow us on these platforms:

Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter.


Logan Green

Latest News