Commemorative coins celebrate the legacy of OR Tambo

Kgalema Motlanthe is seen seated next to the governor of the South African Reserve Bank, Lesetja Kganyago and the acting executive mayor of Ekurhuleni, Clr Doctor Xhakaza, at the launch of commemorative coins at the OR Tambo Cultural Precinct in Wattville on October 4.

As part of Tambo’s birth centenary, South African Mint Company and the South African Reserve Bank launched a R5 circulation coin and a series of collectible coins at the O R Tambo Cultural Precinct in Wattville on October 4. According to the company, the R5 coin entered circulation on October 1, with the coins being available for collection from South African Mint authorised dealers from October 27.

Governor of the South African Reserve Bank Lesetja Kganyago attended the launch alongside Kgalema Motlanthe and the acting executive mayor of Ekurhuleni, Clr Doctor Xhakaza.
Dali Tambo, together with other dignitaries, was also in attendance.
Dali referred to the coins as being a platform of heritage and remembrance.
“This shows commitment and care to his legacy,” he said.
“Dad would say in honouring me, ‘you are honouring many others who were part of my generation’. “These will be a public tool of memory.”
The theme of the coins was based on freedom, democracy and culture.
The R5 coin features Tambo’s order of companions, while the obverse depicts the national coat of arms, year of issue and “South Africa” written in English and Xitsonga.
The reverse of the coin features a neck badge and walking stick.
The symbols reflected on the coin include the majola (mole snake) which, according to African mythology, embodies friendship, protection and active support.
The walking stick signifies support and commitment and the universal yin and yang symbol suggests a meeting point for diverse spiritual energies.
A precious-metal tribute was also launched to mark the birth centenary.
The collectible coins’ range depicts Tambo during his youth and presidency of the ANC.
These coins will be available to the public individually and as a set and can be purchased directly from South African Mint approved dealers.
The four-coin set consists of a 1oz pure gold R500 proof coin, a 1oz sterling-silver R50 proof coin, a base metal R50 non-circulating legal tender coin and a R5 commemorative circulation coin, although the three-coin set does not include the gold proof coin.
The reverse of the 1oz pure gold coin features a stylised interpretation of Tambo representing his “mission in exile”, a term he used in reference to his ANC presidency during the banned movement, together with his full name, the date 1917 to 2017, denomination of R500 and metal value 1oz.
The sterling-silver coin features on its reverse a stylised interpretation of Tambo as a young man, his full name, the centenary date with the denomination of R50 and the metal value.

Also read: Vibrant colours mark Heritage Day attire

Follow us on these platforms:

Like our Facebook page and follow us on Twitter.

For news straight to your phone invite us:
WhatsApp: 079 431 1217


Khutso Maphatsoe

Latest News



Thanx for your referral. We have no doubt your friends will love our newsletter as much as you!

Don't forget to verify your email.

to our FREE newsletter
SUBSCRIBE to our FREE newsletter.

SELECT your titles:

African Reporter
Benoni City Times
Boksburg Advertiser
Brakpan Herald
Germiston City News
Springs Advertiser

Your details:

Your friends: